Matrix Masters  
Lawrence Hagerty's home page


E-book Awards

Lawrence Hagerty accepts the first prize for The Spirit of the Internet at the first Independent e-Book Awards, held during the VABook! Publishers Day luncheon. The Independent e-Book Awards were designed to recognize and reward talent in electronic books, hypertext and digital storytelling from authors with independent publishers and self-published authors. The Awards provide extensive national media campaigns and promotional events to highlight outstanding work in the field of electronic literature.

Unlike the Frankfurt Awards, which only allow major book publishers to enter, the Independent e-Book Awards are designed to acknowledge the work done by the majority of pioneers in the e-book field.

This year’s award ceremony was held in conjunction with the Virginia Festival of the Book in Charlottesville, Virginia on March 24th. More than 200 entries were judged by a prestigious panel of judges including authors, publishers, editors, and e-book pioneers.

The finalists in each category were:


         Winner: The Spirit of the Internet by Lawrence Hagerty

         Finalist: First Aid Yourself by Betsy Dance


           Winner: Mozart's Wife by Juliet Waldron

         Finalist: Bumblebee's Sting by Stabler Rowe


         Winner: Nessie and the Living Stone by Lois June Wickstrom and Jean Lorrah

         Finalist: The Mystery of the Missing Minature Books by Gay Toltl Kinman

Short Fiction

         Winner: The Cavemen in the Hedges by Stacey Richter

         Finalist: The Ghost Diary by Nigel Kay

Digital Storytelling

         Winner: Homecoming by Pamela Gay

         Finalist: The Haunted Castle Mystery by Linda J. Gruber

[Home] [World Events] [Take Charge] [Links] [Hagerty Home Page] [About Us] [Store] [Search] [Site Map]
[What's New]

Website copyright © 2000-2003 by Matrix Masters, Inc. where not otherwise reserved.
Copyrights on material published on this website remain the property of their respective owners.